The Learning Communities feature requires a republication of your application. Please ask your Customer Success Manager about it!
What do Learning Communities refer to?
Learning Communities allow learners to share comments within a training course, in a dedicated "Comments" area. Learners are therefore able to exchange opinions and ideas all along their training path and carry on after they complete all the activities. Learning Communities also allow a trainer to communicate with his/her learners on a dedicated subject.
How to enable the Comments option in a training course?
In the administration page of your training course:
- Click on the Edit button to open your training course's details
- In the Details pop-up window, check the "Enable comments" box
- Click on "Save".
Note : your training course must be published in order to see the Comments button in the application.
Comments do not work with training courses in Test versions.
If your training course is already published, the "Comments" section will automatically appear in the application - no need to republish.
How do you access the Comments section inside the application?
Once enabled, the Comments section appears at the top of the training course's structure, right under its description.
Who can access the Comments section of a Training course?
Once the option is enabled, all learners who have access to the training course have by default access to its Comments section, and therefore can send text, image or video comments.
It is not possible to restrict the access to the Comments section to some specific learners.
How to filter posted comments visibility?
Once the Comments option is enabled, it is possible to use filters to make sure a learner can only share with other learners within his/her population.
For instance, you may have one training course available for different countries, and decide that the Comments section should be filtered by country so that learners from France can only share with other learners from France, learners from Argentina with other learners from Argentina, etc.
In order to do that, and once the Comments option is enabled:
- Go to the administration page of your training course
- Click on the "Filter" button next to the Comments option
- Select the custom field(s) you want to use to filter your populations
- Click on "Save".
In this example, if you check "Country", learners will only see posted comments by other learners from the same country. If you check "Country" and "Region", learners will only see posted comments by learners with the same "Country" and "Region" values.
How does the moderation work in the training course's Comments section?
Moderating comments inside the Learning Communities work the same way as moderating comments in the Wall section:
- A learner reports a comment from the application.
- The comment is sent in the new section of the Mission Center "Comments Moderation" in the Training Courses section.
- The administrator has access to the comment et can decide to accept or reject it.
- If the comment is accepted: nothing happens, the comment remains in the App.
- If the comment is rejected: a message appears in the App explaining that the comment has been moderated - it can no longer be seen by other learners.
For more inforation about moderation in the App, please check out the article "How does moderation work with comments on the Wall?".
Who can moderate comments in the Comments section of a training course?
The administrators who have access to the administration of training courses have automatically access to the moderation of comments in a training course.
Note : an administrator with the role "Can moderate comments" for the Wall section does not have automatically access to the moderation of the comments in the training courses. Indeed, the Comments section of a training course is directly connected with training courses' administration.
As a trainer, how can I interact in the Comments section of a training course?
A trainer, a manager or a coach may interact in the Comments section of a training course using his/her learner account to access the application. You must also make sure that this person has access to the right training course and is part of the same learners' population if the Comments are filtered by custom fields.
Is it possible to see the posted comments in the Mission Center?
Posted comments are only visible and accessible inside the application (in both the mobile version and the web application). It is not possible to access nor download messages (text or media) from the Mission Center.
Does the "Comments" option remain checked when duplicating a training course?
A duplicated training course does not keep the "Comments" option from the original training course.
You still have questions or you need more precisions about the way Learning Communities work?
You wish to receive advice from one of our Academy consultant to make the best out of it?
The discussion about Learning Communities is accessible in the Community section on our Help Center!
Please sign in to leave a comment.